Life

What Happens When You Go To College

I can definitely say right now that I haven’t got a clue about where I will be in the next five years. I could be many things but I just don’t know which combination of things it might be. Married, children, career- woman extraordinaire… I really have no idea but I know from my so far three years of college, that this is A- OKAY! 

I’m in the prime of my life… It feels really weird to say but I am. I’m single and am free to be whom ever I choose to be. I can pursue things, passionately, just because. I don’t have to be tied down to anything and can go wherever my heart desires. Sometimes it gets a little lonely but God has so much planned for me right now.

For those of you out there that are twenty-somethings, college-brained, life-seekers like me who think that you have to know exactly, one hundred and ten percent who you are or where you’re going… well.. you’ve missed my whole point here.

Picture it… 2012.. a new, freshman girl who has no idea who anyone is on this new huge campus, two hours away from the people she’s known her whole life and not sure about what or who she wants to be. This was me three years ago. I was scared, excited, and sad all at once to finally be independent, free, and “in- college”. I was ready to plan my whole life out or at least I thought I was. I thought my life would magically shift, transform and things would be different but I learned very quickly that your environment can’t change your life. It’s all about your attitude! Seriously.

My whole first semester I was lost in thinking about who liked me, who didn’t like me, who should I eat lunch with, and on and on and on… you get the picture. I didn’t take the time to really get to know me , the me that I am today, the me that I am comfortable with and still getting to know. I certainly didn’t take the time to know my God who was and is always pursuing me for who I am. Though, he brought many blessings my way that first year, I was so caught up in what other people thought and expected of me. I’m telling you all this to say: College shouldn’t be about figuring out your career, who others want you to be, who you’ll marry (we’ll get to this one soon!) etc. It’s about discovering who you want to become and ultimately who God made you to be, and figuring out all those small details along the way is just half the fun! 

Going to college is definitely one of the best decisions I ever made. I had a chance to rediscover myself, becoming the woman I never thought I’d be and learn so many things about myself. Don’t give up that chance if you’re presented with it! Don’t take it for granted either… get out there girl, don’t be afraid to take the bull by the horns and have fun doing it. The whole time, trusting that God has your future planned, you don’t have to do it all today, and you can enjoy the small things.

I hope, like me, you can discover who God wants you to be and pursue that instead of what everyone else wants. This is your life and you should enjoy living it!

I don’t know what the future holds, but I know who holds my future. 


With much love.

Brittany

Leave a Reply

