God Truths

Dancing With God and Waiting On No One

Eventually there comes a time in every girl’s life where she’s dreaming of romance, wedding bells, and love… you know… the sappy kind with  a girl and a handsome guy, walking hand-in-hand on a beautiful beach where he confesses his undying, unconditional love for her? (Just think Nicholas Sparks novel.)

I can’t say that I’ve never had these desires in life because quite frankly, there was a time that these kinds of thoughts ruled my mind. Every waking hour I would imagine what it would be like to FINALLY find true love,to find that person I was going to spend the rest of my life with, and so on and so forth.

I would find myself thinking about every guy I met, thinking “God, could he be the one?” and it would get so annoying when nothing, and I repeat, nothing close to those dreams and desires were coming true.

I wanted to feel special, to feel wanted, and feel like someone loved me. I drove myself insane, searching for happiness in a fantasy that was too good to be true. I then realized that I was completely missing the whole picture.

I woke up one day and saw that I already had so much. God loved me, my family and friends loved me.

I already had a loving God who did the most amazing, wondrous thing no human could or would ever do. He sent Jesus to hang on a cross for me, to come into this dirty world and become nothing, to give me everything. In all of human history, there has been no other event more powerful than this and I was completely ignoring it.

Ladies, when you go and put your trust in a man to come and make you happy, you’re pretty much saying to God that you don’t need him, nor that you trust in His plan for your life and this is exactly what I had done. I was getting all in the way of what God wanted for me, thinking that a charming guy could come in and make it all better. I was making it all about me and not at all about him.

James 4:8 says “Come near to God and he will come near to you…”

We must let God lead our lives. Let Him twirl you around the dance floor of life and eventually, maybe he’ll allow the man that you’ve so desperately prayed for, to come in and dance with you. 

Ladies, go live your life the way the Lord intended. Don’t put your life on hold waiting for that guy to call you back or make the first move. Don’t spend your day worrying if you looked stupid or comparing yourself to the new girl he might have been flirting with. In the grand scheme of things, as my mother has always said, it just doesn’t matter.

Get to know the God who calls you beautiful, who loves you more than you could ever know and imagine. Because when it comes down to God and some guy you’ve been hoping would like you FOREVER, there is simply no comparison.

Don’t limit yourself and don’t settle. Break out of that tower of waiting and go stake your claim over the life God gave you.I promise you won’t regret it.

With love,

Brittany

Leave a Reply

