Rants

Why You Should Be Proud of Who You Are

As the day winds down and the sun begins to set, I reflect on the day, with all of its ups and downs. I’ve decided that I just need to rant a little, if that’s okay?!?

I promise my next post will be a lot more fun but I just need to talk about this for a second. As I was working a nine-hour shift today, I kept thinking about how different people are. God intentionally created us all different for a purpose. Not only to show his vast design through us but in order to fulfill the great commission, which calls for crossing into new territory, getting out of your comfort zone a little bit, and sharing with others you’d never imagine you’d ever meet. So… here is my question:

WHY ARE WE SO AFRAID TO DO SO?

In all my time in this world, which compared to some hasn’t been very long, I’ve seen so much hate spurred from our “indifference” and what society defines as such.

We grow up in a world where we are taught that skinny is in, fat is out, white is superior, black is inferior, women are weak, men should never show emotion, money makes life better, more, more, more, more…. see how exhausting that is? Why do we allow ourselves to be defined by such lines? And it’s all in the history books!

Since the time of the founding of our great nation… we have been defined by where we come from and look like. But isn’t it 2015 now? Shouldn’t we be past such ignorance? You’d think so! From what I’ve seen in the last few days from what’s happening in Baltimore (touchy subject, I KNOW! ) we are far from the issues of our past and are far from coming to a solid agreement. There is a community (don’t quote me on this) that is outraged by the treating of one of their own citizens, so they decided to peacefully protest the issue, in order to raise awareness. In the last few days though, it’s all gotten way out of hand and the once peaceful protests have turned into major acts of violence and destruction. Tell me… who are they helping? Certainly not their community….let me stop now before I go too far left. My point in bringing this up is… why does it even have to come to this? Why can’t we all stand for one another, no matter who’s at fault, just simply because we are all human and share this universe together?

I know, I know… It’s easier said than done right… but Mark 12:31 clearly states after the first greatest commandment to

“Love your neighbor as yourself”.

I want to be apart of a world where people love each other unconditionally, without strings attached just because they want to. I’m sick and tired of people feeling ashamed because of where they came from or what they look like, and I’m really tired of those who shame others based on these things.

For those that are reading this, I want you to know that you are unique! There is (literally and scientifically) no other person out there like you. You were made with a purpose and you are special, important, and amazing! Don’t let anyone tell you any different. Be proud of where you come from, embrace who you are, and be thankful for what you have. 

Beautiful person, whoever you are, just know that you are dearly loved by an almighty Creator and for me, knowing that, is completely enough!

With love,

Brittany

Leave a Reply

