Life · Uncategorized

I Ponder of Something Great

Okay… so I officially suck and am a terrible liar. I can’t believe it’s been this long since I’ve posted anything. Obviously, I’ve been super busy with other things in my life therefore my blog has been seriously neglected. I apologize!

Now that the semester is pretty much over (I have one more exam!) I have a little extra time to catch up on my blogging and just talk about stuff. I’m gonna try to not be boring but we will see what happens.

I would really love to be as dedicated as my fellow bloggers and find so much inspiration all the time to write about so many things. You guys seriously impress me.

Anyways, this post is gonna be just one of those random posts where I just talk about things as I type these words.

As some of you know, I am in college and travel back home occasionally for the weekends and holidays (Happy belated Thanksgiving everyone 🙂 ) and I’ve been able to do a lot of important thinking on that two hour drive back and forth.

Today, I was listening to Twenty One Pilots on the ride back to school. If you don’t listen to them you seriously need to because they are the bomb.com and are seriously the coolest musicians I’ve ever heard. Their lyrics are spot on and they come up with some awesome sounds to accompany them.

If you do listen to them then I’m sure you’re familiar with the song “Car Radio”, it’s one of their more popular songs among fans. Anyways, there is a section of lyrics within the song that just hit me today and I thought for a long time about it’s meaning. Have you ever read something before that you’ve heard a million times before but one time you hear it and it’s different? You have an “aha” moment because you finally grasp a deeper understanding? yeah… that was me and this portion of song!

 

There are things we can do
But from the things that work there are only two
And from the two that we choose to do
Peace will win and fear will lose
It is faith and there’s sleep
We need to pick one please because
Faith is to be awake
And to be awake is for us to think
And for us to think is to be alive
And I will try with every rhyme
To come across like I am dying
To let you know you need to try to think

I have these thoughts, so often I ought
To replace that slot with what I once bought
‘Cause somebody stole my car radio
And now I just sit in silence

LIKE FOR REAL??? Isn’t that just the most beautiful thing ever?!?!

If you don’t think so then there is seriously something wrong with you…

But that line.. “Faith is to be awake” is so true! We walk around half the time with our blinders on, not paying attention to others around us or why we are here. We focus so much on ourselves that we miss out on opportunities to really do something amazing.

Shouldn’t we be asking the question of “Why am I here?” and “God, what’s my purpose?”. Even if you’re not religious, isn’t it important to know the meaning of your life?

We aren’t random and we weren’t put here just to be here. If you can believe in anything believe that we all have a reason to be alive and a purpose to fulfill. I think we need to start thinking about that and using our minds to think about the bigger picture.

As he says above “Peace will win and fear will lose”. We shouldn’t forget this truth!

P.S. Listen to more of Twenty One Pilots for more amazing lyrics as this one! They will truly inspire you!

Much love,

Brittany

4 thoughts on “I Ponder of Something Great

Leave a Reply

