Life · Uncategorized

Thoughts and Words

I can’t seem to sleep. Though I should be. I should be allowing my body rest and allowing my mind to mellow. But I simply can’t. All these thoughts run through my head and I keep trying to coherently form sentences together to understand all the strings of words that are there.

There is so much to talk about, that I want to talk about but I don’t know where to begin.

I guess that’s the point of having this blog? That a little bit at a time I can take those chunks of words and form them into readable, enjoyable posts for all of cyberspace to read?

Well, I guess that’s just it.

Trying to form myself into this mold of who I want to be is really hard. As Sleeping At Last plays in the background I think of all the ways I can make myself better: do this, try that, be this, wear that, look like her….

You know something I’m tired of… all the seemingly perfect perfection around me. All the beautiful people, with their beautifully edited pictures, status updates, and life stories. I’m tired of feeling like I’m in constant competition with my friends on social media. Who can look the best? Pretend to have the most awesome life?

We make sure to have it all picture perfect for the world to see and want some of. But it’s so exhausting and frankly stupid. Half the time, I look nothing like my pictures online. If you could only see my imperfect skin, disheveled hair on a daily basis you would know that I was far from perfect. So why does it bother me so that I feel like I’m the only one? Why do I get jealous over someone whom I think has “prettier” Facebook photos than me? Why do we compare such dumb things?

I know this is just one of those rambling posts but I seriously needed to talk about this tiny thing. I know that I’m uniquely made and shouldn’t compare myself to others because there’s no one else like me on the planet.

It’s just really difficult. That’s all I can say about it.

So, reader, what do you do to make yourself feel better about yourself and how do you stop comparing yourself to others? I’d love to hear from you!

much love,

Brittany

 

Leave a Reply

