God Truths · Life · Uncategorized

Trusting In Something Bigger

Today has been a very, very long day. I’ve had class all day and I’m currently in the process, as I’ve mentioned before in a previous post, of getting an internship for next semester. In regards to that, I had an orientation meeting today to inform us of the process and what’s to be expected.

I have one more year of school to complete. This current one is almost over and I still can’t believe that I’ve almost made it to the finish line. Two years ago I was so lost and clueless about what I wanted for my life but now it’s so much more clear.

I’m only a few steps closer to being finished with my Undergraduate experience and closer to facing the adult world and the workforce world. The world of being independent and paying for bills, maybe getting married and who knows, even having kids. I have plenty of time for those last two things but still it feels closer than ever.

I was contemplating all this today while I was waiting for my early dinner at Taco Bell on campus. (Yes, Taco Bell…. because I’m still a broke college student and have to get through an evening class tonight. )

This is a popular hub for the freshman to populate, eat, and hang out at. I would know, because I myself had many gatherings with friends here during my freshman year.

Waiting for my food, I thought about all the freshmen that were there, sitting around, enjoying themselves, not a care in the world but the weather and what they were gonna do tonight with their friends. I thought, “They have no idea what the future holds and the challenges that they will face”.

For any freshman reading this, I don’t say that to scare you but to simply help you understand the reality of life.

We go to college, ready to reinvent ourselves, meet new people, have some fun, and maybe learn something. You go to college games, club events, and random people’s dorm rooms hoping that you might meet your next best friend. We try to dress our best, we try to speak differently, and totally pretend to be someone else. I know… I did all of this.

But trust me when I say, that these fun and amazing moments only last for a while.

You realize that your classes are a little harder than you thought…

You realize that the cute boy on your hall is actually not that into you…

Your new friend group starts to fade..

Your parents miss you, and you desperately miss them too, but you want to prove your independence…. so you keep quiet and act like you’re okay…

You have no idea what you want your major to be…

and on top of it all, someone stole your laundry basket…

The college experience is the most amazing and scariest experience you can go through. You will go through a lot, see a lot, and learn a lot but it’s not about trying to be someone you’re not.

I tried so hard that first year to fit in with people because I wanted those friendships but most of those people whom I exhausted myself over, I’m not even friends with today.

I tried so hard to be someone I wasn’t and all the while was losing myself through it. God created me for a purpose and I’m finally just starting to realize what that purpose is.

I know it seems like you won’t ever make it through that first year but I promise you that you will. You will find yourself again and see God’s purpose for you. You will find out what you want your major to be. Ladies, you will find a guy that is so into you and wants to love you, for you. You will tell your parents how much you miss them and they will respect you for being independent but will always support you no matter what. You will find life long friends that won’t ever fade but only grow stronger. Your classes will get better and you will find your way. And by golly, you will go out and buy yourself a brand new laundry basket!

I had to remember through it all and continually now, that God has a plan for my life and it’s bigger than anything I will ever dream up. Just keep telling yourself that it will all be okay. Find people that will encourage you through the journey and rely on God to get you to where you need to be!

And at the end of the day don’t give up!

much love,

Brittany

*Photo is from Pinterest. I do not own it. If it belongs to you, please let me know and I will be happy to take it down.

 

6 thoughts on “Trusting In Something Bigger

  1. I remember my days in university. I was poorer than a church mouse. I wore shoes two sizes too big that had been given to me. I couldn’t afford anything else. At some point I became use to them and thought that my feet must have grown lol I was also poor for the first few years after graduation until I got on my feet. At times I wondered if it was all worth it. It’s been over 20 years now and I can say with absolute certainty that it was. I have a job that I love and continues to challenge me. I’m grateful every day for my life and its many gifts. Blessing Brittany on your journey 🙂 I look forward to reading many more of your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my goodness! It sounds like you have an incredible story to tell people today and how you survived and made it through. It is a tough 4 to 5 years to get through. My Mom has always told me that no matter how hard it is, an education is something that no one can ever take from you. Thank you so much for reading and sharing your story with me! I as well look forward to reading and following your blog! Many blessings to you! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

