God Truths · Life

Paper Faces on Parade

Heart pounding, hands shaking. The adrenaline rushing through like electricity. The fear creeping up my spine and the cold chill of gasping air from my mouth. Not knowing what might happen next and hoping you will survive until daylight.

That in a nutshell is what it feels like when I’m watching a horror movie. I must admit they are my favorite genre of movies. There’s just something so exhilarating about them. The fast pace of the plot line. The twists and turns. The unknown I get completely drawn to is enough to make me shiver.  The very first horror movie I remember ever seeing was “Jeepers Creepers” and I also remember the way it made me not sleep for a few nights.

But past that exhilarating feeling I get while watching them, I know it would be the complete opposite in real life. The closest thing I’ve come to that real feeling is Woods of Terror and let me just say I didn’t enjoy it one bit.

Tonight I was watching said horror movies. I wanted a break from my typical TV shows and my roommate is out late tonight, so I was by myself. Let me just say that they don’t bother me as much anymore and I can handle watching them on my own.

I picked one at random on Netflix and was a bit skeptical at first but ended up really liking the message it sent. It revolved around a female lead who decided not to go home from college during the holidays and ends up being hunted down by a group of killers on the campus. Past all the violence, which I mostly don’t enjoy, I enjoyed watching her find victory in the end.

She had to make a choice."... the light inside me burned brighter thatn the fire around me" -Joshua Graham https://angelaschua.wordpress.com.:

People in our world have faced incredible amounts of pain in their past. I know a few of my followers are very open about past abuse and/or trauma they have experienced. I’m lucky to have never experienced physical abuse but I’ve had my fair share of emotional heartache. Whether it’s physical or emotional pain, we’ve all felt it to the same degree.

People, circumstances, this world like to takes a big bite out of us, chewing us up a little and spitting us back out. It’s hurts to the point where sometimes we wonder if we can take anymore.

There was a significant part of the movie towards the end where our survivor is fighting to make it out alive and is successful in taking down one of her killers. Before he dies, she lifts the make-shift mask off his face. The mask meant to terrify her, meant to drive her into a dark little hole to cower like a kicked puppy. You can only imagine how intense this scene was. But can you take a wild guess at what was underneath the mask?

A man.

Simple as that. A man, with more fear in his eyes than that of his victims. A man who realized he had lost. A man who, in his final moments, realized all the pain he had brought to someone else’s life. In a split second it was as if a light bulb had turned on in his head, revealing him to be the weak, broken person that he was.

And that’s the point isn’t it. The people that hurt us, that put us down, that tell us we aren’t enough are simply people who are themselves broken. That’s the reason why they lash out and create a tornado of pain around them.

Our victor in the movie made a choice. She chose not to let fear overcome her. She chose not to let her attackers have any power over her. That sole decision made her strong and helped her face them head on in order to survive.

In a metaphorical, inspirational way I want everyone here to understand the main thing that I’m saying.

Don’t let those who have hurt you have power over your life. We can choose to wake up and let them rule our hearts, minds, and thoughts. We can allow their actions to wreck our entire lives. But what good would that do? This is one of my most favorite verses... "So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.":

The only person that can rid you of the power those people hold, is you! Don’t let fear overcome your heart or your life, especially fear caused by a broken, weak human being as that of the one who hurt you. They are the one who did wrong, they are the one who hurt someone, and they will have to answer for that one day.

Don’t let their past actions rule your future! It’s yours!

Face your attackers and take off their masks to reveal the truth underneath. You will survive it!

And at the end of the day let God hold you gently to restore the hurt because, trust me, He will.

much love,

Brittany

*Pictures from Pinterest

 

One thought on “Paper Faces on Parade

Leave a Reply

