Life · My Life · True Story Tuesdays

True Story Tuesday: Lessons from a car

Happy Tuesday everyone,

So I thought I would give you guys a little preview of my last few days. They were filled with a little fun, a lot of tears, and learning how to trust.

Lately, I’ve been struggling with feeling lonely in the season I’m in. Feeling completely stuck while everyone else around me is zooming into the next phases of their lives (careers, marriage, travelling, etc.) I feel as if my friends are doing so many amazing things and I’m still here trying to graduate.

giphy (4).gif

All of those emotions were amplified the last few days for reason unknown to me but never the less there I was on Saturday, sitting in my apartment wallowing in it. I would’ve invited you all to my little pity party. The self-loathing and doubt make for great fun! 🙂

giphy (5)

So there I was sitting in my apartment and my Mom happened to give me a phone call. Now if you know me personally, you know that I have a very close relationship with my Mom and I talk to her about everything. When that phone rang, I knew it was going to turn into me crying and her consoling me on the other end. She is the most self-less person I know and has always been. The conversation ended with her telling me, as she does usually, that I was right where I needed to be in life and my time was coming to do all those amazing things.

I felt instantly better and decided to go to the grocery store not knowing that even more stress lay ahead.

The rest of my day and the weekend through today insisted of me dealing with car troubles. The necessary evil of life. That sinking feeling you get when you go out to start your car and old Bertha is “dead-as-a-doornail”. Let me just say I’ve had my fair share of dealing with cars that don’t start and have issues but I just hate dealing with it period.

There I was sitting in a dead car, waiting for triple A, feeling sorry for myself. Feeling so alone. All I wanted was someone else to be there with me and I literally burst into tears thinking about all of it.

But in the midst of all the emotions and chaos around me through these last few days in the dealings with stress, and old Bertha, I realized that I was never alone.

Though I couldn’t see Him, Jesus was right there with me. In that dead car, in my apartment when I thought I was alone. He had His arms around me the whole time.

I think we do this a lot during our day-to-day stresses. In those moments when we are totally freaking out, we forget that we aren’t alone in it. God has placed us in those moments for a reason. What that reason is…. I couldn’t tell you. But I find comfort in knowing that He’s already seen my future meltdowns, my lonely moments, my future anger at Bertha, and so much more.

Preaching to the choir: Don’t get hung up on life’s annoying little things and remember that your purpose here is far greater than all that chaos!

Psalm 46:10 “Be still, and know that I am God…”

much love and comfort,

Brittany

Largest collection of bible verses designs: http://www.society6.com/bibleart/prints:

 

 

9 thoughts on “True Story Tuesday: Lessons from a car

  1. ❤ you got this, Babygirl! That is such a huge reminder, I tell myself daily. We are all exactly where we are supposed to be! I love your blog and I love you, and am so proud of the woman you've become. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are such an amazing woman and you came by it honest as your Mother is an amazing woman as well. Thank you so much for this blog. I love you and I am so proud of you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You are such an amazing young lady. Wise beyond your years. This touched me very closely today Brittany. Thank you for this!! Keep letting God speak through you like this. It is a gift.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve been feeling the same way lately, even though I have graduated. It feels like everyone around me knows what they’re doing it when it comes to life, and then there’s me. But I keep reminding myself this is God’s plan for me and that we can’t compare our path in life with someone else’s, even if it’s easier than ever to do that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think that’s the whole point and what I’ve been learning lately. We have to stop comparing our situations and our journeys to other people’s. God’s timing really is the best timing! It’s really hard sometimes but I’m slowly learning to let go. Glad someone else feels the same.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

