God Truths · Life · Rants

Why We Shouldn’t Just Pray for Orlando

As the news of this past week flooded in, I wasn’t sure what to think. Anger, confusion, sadness, and disgust all flooded my mind.

I saw the headlines everywhere and couldn’t understand what was happening. The one word “ORLANDO” was all over my social media feeds.

My friends and family were all posting things like “Pray for Orlando” and “My prayers are with the victims in Orlando”. The compassion to be seen was incredible. As the week has gone through I’ve seen an outpour of love from all over the country. From liberal groups to conservatives and every person in between.

I think anyone who is human can see the sadness in this tragic event.

Amidst all the positivity and prayers though there has been a lot of uproar and negativity towards certain groups. Also, the fact that the tragedy happened at a gay nightclub has  sparked widespread debates.

Christians, muslims, the LGBT community, and political groups have all been under fire this week. It seems if you have an opinion at all, someone out there is likely to disagree with you and possibly throw you under the bus for that opinion.

giphy (6)

But here’s a newsflash to those who get their underpants twisted at those whose opinions differ from you: we live in a country where there is freedom to believe whatever you want to believe.

We live in a country where if you wanted to worship a jar of crunchy peanut butter, you can. Whatever floats your boat right?

What I’m saying is, our society is a salad bowl of every kind of opinion and you will never see people agreeing on things, especially such subjects as this.

I have an opinion of my own. I’m a Christian and I have the beliefs that go along with that. There are people out there, and I’m sure even some of you following my blog, who wouldn’t agree with some of my opinions and beliefs. But you know what? That’s OKAY! I don’t love you any less and I don’t condemn you for having your beliefs. I would hope that you could one day come to know the God who is so crazy about you that He would send His only Son to die for you and experience the love that I have from that but you’re still a person to me. You still deserve a level of respect.

It comes down to the basic premise that what happened in Orlando is just plain wrong. Never is it okay to attempt to murder people because of their lifestyle. That’s not loving them or showing them the grace that Jesus showed us on the cross. Never is it okay to lash out violently at others because of your own insecurities. Whether those folks were gay, straight, transgender, lesbian, muslim, black, yellow, or white they are still precious souls. People that were in fact created in God’s image and who are still loved by God, even if they don’t know it.

Romans 5:8 states it plainly:

 “But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

We are all sinners, we all fall short but God loves us all and wants us to come to Him. He wants us to give Him everything. And we have no right to judge where God will judge.

As a Christian, a follower of Jesus Christ, I want to make a  difference in this world. I want to be the person that is compassionate while still upholding the Holy Word, as I’m supposed to. I want to love others, show grace to others, be kind to others as Jesus would. I want to be different from that bad image that certain “Christian” groups have made for the world to see. I want people to see God shining through me.

Christians, seriously think about how you’re holding yourself in front of others. Are your words seasoned with grace? Are you speaking in a Christ-like way to those who are searching for peace? Are you using your opportunities to proclaim the Gospel of Christ?

"Clothe yourself with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience" Colossians 3:12 | inspiring bible verses | motivation for keeping faith:

At the end of the day it’s not about winning a debate, it’s about winning hearts for Christ. It’s about planting a seed. God might have placed you perfectly where you are to lead that person whose opinion differs from you to Him and His throne of grace.

We are called to more than just posting on Facebook that we will pray for people, though there isn’t anything wrong with that. But we are also called to be an example in the way we are living.

Just something to think about, Christ followers!

much love,

Brittany

P.S. I’d love to hear your thoughts on this subject, Christian or not. Honest and respectful conversation is so good to have through tragic events such as this. I appreciate any comments! Thanks for reading! 🙂

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Why We Shouldn’t Just Pray for Orlando

  1. Hi Brittany! I love your blog and your message here. You are such a light. 🙂 One thing that really caught my attention in a less-positive way, though, was the statement that it’s legal to marry your pet iguana — a) that’s not factual, and b) comparing homosexuality to bestiality is something that I think would set many people instantly on the defensive. Because of those things, I think including that statement weakens your argument and might close people off from hearing it who really should? Just something to think about because I think the rest of your message is wonderful and should be heard!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Phoebe! Thanks so much for your feedback. I’m so glad you got a good message out of it! That statement was intended for humor purposes only. I’m sorry if it came across as offensive to you! That was not my intention in any way. Honestly, I was typing and that was the first thing that popped in my mind. Everyone is so different in our world and I was trying to think of something dramatic, and a bit humorous, to highlight that. In my fast typing, I wasn’t thinking about that point. Thanks for pointing it out! I will definitely think of a different statement to put there! Thanks again for reading! I definitely value your opinion. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

