God Truths · Life

Finding Your Treasure

Last week I needed a few things from the grocery store. So I threw on some shoes grabbed my wallet and keys, and off I went to the local neighborhood market.

It only took me about twenty minutes to get the few things I needed from my list- bread, rice, chips, the basic necessities we all keep in our pantries. I had my cart all loaded up and proceeded to check out.

I ended up waiting in line behind a lady that only had a few items. This is always awkward because you don’t want to dead stare at the person in front of you and freak them out like this cat is …

giphy (7).gif

Anyway… I was standing there (not being awkward) and some of the magazines displayed there caught my eye. It’s almost as if they put them there to trap you into reading them while you’re waiting in line.

My eyes scanned the many words I saw there, some going a little something like this: “Kim and Kanye’s Disastrous Marriage: How He Stole Millions; Tay Swizzle’s Driver Tells All: The Dirty Secret She’s Hiding”. I mean it’s obvious that these magazines were looking to sell copies via shock value.

But as I was standing there, chuckling under my breath at these ridiculous stories, I wondered what it was like for those different celebrities. That there is a whole group of people who think all these negative things about you as a person. Whether these stories are true or not, it has to be a weird feeling seeing your picture on a magazine clustered beside words that are so negative and hurtful. Your life on display for everyone, everywhere to see.

I don’t know about you or those celebrities but I wouldn’t want that for my life. I know that there are magazines and media groups out there who release these awful stories that are completely false just to hurt a person but why is our world like this?

Why do people get laughs from negative things in other people’s lives? Why do we laugh at the hurt and pain that could be going on for someone, and especially in the life of a celebrity? Why do we think knowing about these things are so important?

We tend to forget that, even in the spotlight with fame and fortune at their fingertips, they are still people. People with feelings, people with pain, people with scars, and people with hearts.

I wish everyone could get rich and famous and have everything they ever dreamed of so they would know that's not the answer. - Jim Carrey:

Celebrities are people who were once just like me and you, and in a lot of ways still are. Leading simple lives, doing everyday simple things.

That’s the basic idea here: we are all people.

Fame and fortune can never bring true happiness to anyone, no matter who you are.

I think our culture has turned money, fame, power, and celebrities into idols. Into things or people we think we have to have or be like in order to feel important and secure. When we  realize that our identity can be found in something far greater than material things, and in people, we will be so much better off.

For me, my Faith in God is the only thing that fully brings me genuine happiness everyday. No amount of money could ever replace the treasure I’ve found with my Heavenly Father. I find my identity in Him everyday. Along with my faith, my family and friends also bring me true happiness. At the end of the day, I would rather have my relationships with God and people, than anything else.

"A beautiful heart can bring things into your life that all the money in the world couldn't obtain." -Dau Voire:

When we look past all of these things that fade away, we can see what’s truly important in life. Having integrity, being kind, and loving others the way God would means so much more than how much money is in your bank account.

In thinking about all of this I’m reminded of the beautiful song by Hillsong called “Touch The Sky”, a simple reminder to remember what’s important in life and be humbled by the good that we can see around us.

What fortune lies beyond the stars
Those dazzling heights too vast to climb
I got so high to fall so far
But I found heaven as love swept low

My heart beating, my soul breathing
I found my life when I laid it down
Upward falling, spirit soaring
I touch the sky when my knees hit the ground

What treasure waits within Your scars
This gift of freedom gold can’t buy

If only those magazine covers would start talking about the good in people and good things people are doing…

And to think all this came from waiting in line at the grocery store.

much love,

Brittany

8 thoughts on “Finding Your Treasure

Leave a Reply

