My Life

Discovering A New Talent

Hey guys,

Thank goodness it’s Friday! Who is gonna be watching the 2016 Olympics tonight? Well, I am! and I’m so excited to cheer on the USA Women’s Gymnastics team. I’ve always loved gymnastics. Since I was a little girl, I’ve been in awe at how they can fly and flip through the air. There is just something so beautiful at how much you can push your body to do.

In speaking of talents. I’ve discovered a new one in myself!!

And no, I haven’t discovered that there was a super flexible gymnast hidden deep inside myself.

Ever heard of lettering?

Well, I was scrolling through Instagram last week and found all these videos of people doing beautiful art with words. They took simple markers and made something beautiful with the same words that I myself have fallen in love with. So, I thought… hmmm… maybe I could do that.

So I did some googling, sat down and started practicing what these people were doing so well. Little did I know it’s not as easy as it looks but the more I practiced it, the more I came to enjoy it.

With some practice and creativity, I’ve really gotten into this new hobby and found that, just like this blog, I can use it as an outlet to express myself and it’s simply fun to create something that’s beautiful.

So I wanted to share a few of the little pieces I’ve made so far and to get your feedback! I would like to buy the appropriate pens/markers so I can create a bigger range of things. But this is just the beginning of this amazing new talent I’ve discovered.

lettering 1

lettering 2

lettering 3

Do any of you guys letter? What are your hobbies, other than blogging? Let me know in the comments!

much love,

Brittany

10 thoughts on “Discovering A New Talent

  1. I love lettering! In my latest post, I showed a picture of a lettering a did on Psalm 107:1 but I copied it from a Pinterest picture so maybe that doesn’t count. 😛 🙂 I love quilting as well as piano, baking, and writing music! Great post!

    Like

    1. I checked it out!! That’s actually really good! Great lettering! What kind of markers/pens did you use, I’m curious?? I’ve copied a lot of different ones from Pinterest myself but I think it counts as long as you enjoy doing it. I’ve always wanted to learn to play piano! I sing a little and would love to be able to sing and play. I play the clarinet but you can’t really sing while you play that haha 😀

      Like

      1. Thanks! I just used a thin Crayola marker. It was the only thing I had bit worked great. I’ve always wanted to play clarinet. I considered taking flute but I liked piano better. Singing is so much fun! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

