God Truths · Health · Life · Music · My Life

Happy, Free, Confused, and Lonely At The Same Time

Evening guys,

I turned 22 this week!! Needless to say, I can now sing Taylor Swift’s “22” all year without feeling guilty, ashamed, or stupid. YOU CAN DO NOTHING ABOUT IT!!!!!!!!

giphy (13).gif

Like Taylor, I’ve learned a lot about life, dating, faith, and so much more in these twenty-two years. Unlike Taylor, I don’t write songs about all of it. Instead I write it out. Put it down on paper and allow it to go out into the air, out of my head and maybe to someone else who needs it.

Perhaps your words mean more than what you think they do and maybe words can help heal or change attitudes.

Among my twenty-two years I’ve learned that it’s okay to be alone sometimes. Alone, not just in singleness but simply alone, without people. It’s okay to just be still and quiet, reflecting on yourself. I think it brings about vast growth that you can’t get being around other people.

I’ve learned that you don’t have to put everything that happens to you in life on Facebook or Instagram. I took a one-week break from social media a while back because I needed the time away from it. From doing that, I found that I had been basing my worth off of likes which come and go like the wind. They don’t mean anything if you don’t have genuine relationships with people in real life.

I know, at 22, that it’s okay to be single. I’ve talked to so many girls even younger than myself who want to have a relationship so bad they can’t see straight. Trust me, I’ve been there and I understand how hard that can be but I’ve learned that I will have no other time in life to grow into who I am than right now. Right now is the time to learn how to love myself, learn how to be independent, educate myself, and enjoy life. Now is the time to make memories that last and to be in the moment. When the time is right, then God will bring me to that chapter of life but for now I’m enjoying the singularity.

It’s okay to not wear makeup all the time.

It’s okay to trip and be a complete mess.

It’s okay to cry and let out your emotions.

It’s okay to do something nice for yourself and try new things.

I’m young and I have a whole life ahead of me!

I won’t dwell on things or people that I can’t change and I will enjoy every blessing God has for me.

At the end of the day, that’s all you can do!

much love,

Brittany

*title is from lyrics to “22” by Taylor Swift. I don’t own.

 

6 thoughts on “Happy, Free, Confused, and Lonely At The Same Time

  1. Happy Birthday to you! Hope you’re having a great time. Or if you have something planned for later, that you have a great time then.

    I fee like, now that I’m turning 36 next month, a lot of those things are still important to realize.

    Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

