God Truths · Life

White Wall

Hello blog,

Everyone is angry. I mean, have you been on Facebook this week. People are angry.. angry at our government, angry at who our new president is, who the vice president is, people are angry at the people being angry. People are angry with people they don’t know, some they do know. People are arguing with everyone from their Mama to someone halfway across the world. Arguing over who’s right and who’s wrong. And while those folks are  arguing on Facebook, there are angry people taking to the streets. People from every opinion, background, and belief shouting what they hold dear to their hearts, some peacefully and some not so peacefully.

People are hurting, people are expressing their emotions and it makes you wonder if it might stem from something deeper than politics, an election, or even an opinion?

No.. I think people have genuine pain in their lives. I think people put that pain into other things that they can also be frustrated with. Things like politics, candidates they don’t trust, or beliefs they don’t agree with. It really makes me wonder if those things are just reflections of the real people in their lives that they are angry with?

Don’t get me wrong, politics and what you believe is so very important, I’m not at all downplaying that. I know that a lot of people out there have strong opinions about our new commander-in-chief but that’s not what I’m here to discuss. I’m thankful I live in a country where we can openly express our views and be so diverse in that but I also don’t think that people wake up one day and decide to be angry or upset. I think it accumulates over time and through multiple experiences with a whole of crap we all deal with.

I think we are human.

We feel things deeply whether we want to or not. With all the things in our personal lives piling up to make us angry, sad, bitter, or tired it’s easy to see why politics and things this week would just be the “delightful” cherry on top.

I was pondering all this around Wednesday after taking a quick scroll through Facebook before I had to leave for work. I was just amazed at the emotions coming from comment sections and the amount of hurt behind the arguments being made about policies, and whatnot.

I was driving and asking myself, and God, what the remedy to all this was. Was there any hope still left to bring unity and peace back?

As I thought this, I passed an old building that is up for sale. There is nothing spectacular about it, just plain cement painted white. The paint chipping off of it from years of just sitting. But written on the side of the wall in green spray-paint were the words:

“I STILL LOVE YOU”

Though it was probably a sentiment left to some unknown person from a past, beautiful love story, those words penetrated my heart and made me realize that was the answer to my question.

Though we as a humans disagree, we fight, we argue, and we hate one another there is still something that we all share inside of each one of us and that is the need for connection, and ultimately, hopefully love.

That is our core, that is how we were created by God to live. Connected to each other as brothers and sisters, even when we disagree.

Those words penetrated my heart because I had ignited my own opinion on Facebook thinking that it would make a difference but it doesn’t when it’s driven out of anger or hate.

Everyone reading this, remember that words… words you say, write, think, feel those words make huge impacts on people and can shift your connection to someone reading or hearing your words, good or bad, right or wrong.

So.

I’m thankful for the person with the green spray-paint.

much love,

Brittany

P.S. How can your words make a difference? Like, comment, and share if you enjoyed this post! And make sure to Subscribe for more!! 🙂

3 thoughts on “White Wall

  1. Yes. We all have this profound connection with each other, and we are all capable of greatness- to love, to care, and protect each other. That in times of ruins and destructions those qualities resonates even louder.
    What an impressive and insightful way of sharing an experience! Great post! 👍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

