God Truths · Life

Hope While Waiting

Hope…

That little four-letter word that we all wish for in our hearts. Every human being that has ever existed on this planet has had hope for something. Whether that’s a hope for love, purpose, success or to belong … there is always hope for more. It exists within the deepest parts of us. As humans who were created for something more it makes sense that throughout life we hope for more. Some are constantly hoping, others have hoped for too much, and others have stopped hoping because the world has tossed them around as if they were nothing.

The definition of hope as google puts it is “the feeling of expectation and desire for a certain thing to happen”. An expectation, meaning we look forward to something, a desire meaning we want the thing we want the most so bad we do everything we can to reach for it.

As a follower of Christ, I hope for His will for my life and I hope that I’m doing everything for His glory. As humans we hope for our parent’s love, we hope for people that will love us unconditionally, we hope for good jobs, happiness, success, and a feeling that we have done something with our lives. Sometimes, we can hope for things that aren’t good for us, like addictions or unhealthy relationships because that’s what we feel we deserve. But our version of hope is quaint compared to the hope that can be found in Jesus and we deserve better than what we are settling for. We were made for more.

If you’re reading this and you’re not a believer… that’s okay. I still want you here, I still want you to keep reading. Bear with me for a second before you click away thinking that I’m just a “Bible-Thumper”. I’m firstly human, just like you. I’m not perfect and never will be. I’m also a sinner, who like you have done stupid things in my short years. I’ve lied, cheated, been prideful, etc. But I’ve also been redeemed for all of that because of who Jesus is and what He did for me on the cross. Simple as that.

With that said, I want to say that the “hope” we have constructed-hoping for money, success, acceptance, etc.- doesn’t even begin to cover the hope that is found in Jesus. It’s a shining, never-changing hope that never goes away. It’s a hope that is bigger than our small lives. It’s a hope that has baffled believers since Jesus’ time on Earth. A hope that is never failing, unending, and unchanging. There is nothing more or less we can do to receive this hope because it’s unconditional.

I have been grappling with God’s definition of hope for a while now without realizing it. I was getting frustrated with the waiting and with feeling like I couldn’t see this metaphorical “horizon ahead”.  Then I woke up today, and every scripture I was reading this morning had to do with… you guessed it… HOPE. If I didn’t know any better, I’d say that God is trying to tell me something.

Psalm 33: 20-22 says “We wait in hope for the Lord; he is our help and our shield. In him our hearts rejoice, for we trust in his holy name. May your unfailing love be with us, Lord, even as we put our hope in you”.

You see, that’s where we mess up. We want so many things in life but we totally leave our Creator out of it. We keep Him closed in a box and don’t let Him into our lives. We sit and wonder why we haven’t received what we want in life. Maybe you’re reading this and you’re single. You want God to send you a Godly husband or wife so bad you can’t see straight (guilty!), or maybe you are a successful business person and have achieved all your goals for your career but yet you still aren’t satisfied. Maybe you’re waiting on the perfect job or waiting for things to get better with your bills, with your kids, or in your marriage.

Whatever the case may be you should examine whether you are letting God ahead of you. Take a step back and ask yourself whether you are putting Psalm 33 to the test. Are you waiting on the Lord? Are you hoping in His unfailing love? Are you viewing Him as your “help” and “shield“? Is your heart rejoicing even in the midst of sorrow? Even when you don’t feel like it? Are you digging into His word? Are you preparing your heart for what He has next for you.

I can speak from experience that in the midst of waiting on something or hoping for things to get better, I threw myself a pity party for one and wallowed in it. I got all in the way of what He needed to do in my life. I didn’t allow God into the hurt and broken parts of my heart. That is the first step to take. To declare that He is more powerful than what you’re going through is when the walls will begin to fall. But we must acknowledge Him at all times. His grace is sufficient enough for anyone who comes to Him, from the atheist to the church lady who is in the front pew with her hands raised.

“All those the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never drive away” – John 6:37

Whether you believe it or not, it’s the truth and there is a greater hope for you.

Reader, whatever you may be dealing with, hoping for, or expecting, let God in to guide you. You won’t regret it because at the right time everything will come together for His good. He wants to prepare you in those waiting moments. In those moments where you are facing the unknown or are frustrated with your situation, cry out to Him. Let Him in to be your “help” and “shield“. As Jesus said above in the book of John, “whoever comes to me I will never drive away“.  Trust in that today!

 

much love and hope,

Brittany ❤

 

 

2 thoughts on “Hope While Waiting

Leave a Reply

